Boogers!

One of my motherhood “joys” is picking the boogers out of my son’s nose.  It sounds disgusting, but I am sure if you talk to most moms they will also agree that picking boogers is something that they get excited about.  As a mom I am constantly on the look-out for the little boogers in my son’s nose.  Since my guy has not mastered the fine art of nose picking it becomes my duty to do it for him.  The challenge comes when you are trying to figure out how to get that little sucker out of there!  I have small fingers, but fingers way too big for the little nose of my son.  When he was a baby we would try to do the bulb syringe, but he hated that and it only seemed to work when there was a lot of snot.  I was once told about a motorized bulb syringe that would suck the boogers out like a vacuum cleaner.  It sounded like an awesome invention, but I never did look into that (should I have kid #2 I think that I will have to explore this option!).  The best thing to get the boogers out was our fingers, mostly the pointer one.  Now that my toddler is at the age where he understands what you say to him it is a little easier to get him to cooperate when he has a booger.  If the booger is really stubborn (which by the way, makes it the more challenging and fun), he gets a little irritated at the third to sixth tries of getting it out!  When I do get the booger out I show it to him and say “look at that big booger!”  He enjoys looking at the boogers almost as much as me :).  He has tried to pick his own nose, but doesn’t quite know how to do it right.  I am not sure at what age they master picking their nose, but I don’t mind that that day will come because I don’t think that I will be excited about picking a kid’s, teenager’s, or adult’s nose (besides my own!).

One response to “Boogers!

  1. Ohhhhh….the satisfaction of getting that boogie out! My favorite are the big hard ones that take forever to get out…I’m getting goosebumps just thinking about it! Well put seniorita!

Leave a Reply

