Here We Go Again!

I think that with every new blog post that I do I am going to write about how bad I am at keeping up with the blog!  The time really does get away from me and I even have trouble remembering what the name of this blog is!  I know, very bad of me!

The summer after my son turned one I started thinking about having another kid.  I wasn’t in any rush to do it, but I wanted to start planning for it.  I decided that I wanted to have a baby in the fall this time around.  My son was born in April and the year that he was born was one of the hottest Springs and Summers that I can remember.  I personally didn’t enjoy having a newborn in the summer heat because I couldn’t do some things with him that I really wanted to, like baby wearing.  I thought that having a baby in the Fall or Winter would be a nice change.  With that in mind I knew that come January I would want to start trying for baby #2.

I had decided that the earliest I would want to have a baby would be in October.  Then I would skip the month of December because we already have a ton of family and friends with birthdays in that month along with Christmas to celebrate.  I would be willing to keep trying up until a May birthday.  If we didn’t conceive by then I would wait another year (see my planning was getting a little crazy already!).  Before I knew it January was here and I kept thinking to myself, “Am I ready to get pregnant again and go through everything with a new baby?”  We were really in a good groove with our almost two year old and I had lost about 20 lbs and was eating well and exercising and feeling great about my body.  I just wasn’t sure if I wanted to get pregnant then.  I talked to my husband about it and we decided that we would not do anything to prevent a pregnancy.  I thought that we wouldn’t get pregnant the first month of trying because our son took three months, but wouldn’t you know a month after “not trying” we found out that we were pregnant.

I was so very excited to see the two lines on the pregnancy test and couldn’t believe that we would be going through the pregnancy journey again.  We had talked about how this would be our last child so I really wanted to enjoy every moment of this pregnancy because I wouldn’t get to experience this wonderful and painful process ever again.  We also decided to take a whole different route with this baby than with our last.  We decided to have a home and water birth!  Our son was born in the hospital and I had pitocin, an epidural, and aid from a vacuum.  This time around it would be all natural.  I will have to do another post on home births later and tell why I decided to go that route this time.  We also decided not to find out the sex.  I really wanted to know what it was like to find out the sex at birth time.  I have heard that it is one of the times in life where you are truly surprised.  I am 34 weeks now and am dying to find out what the sex is in 6 weeks!  I have no real deep feeling as to what this baby’s sex is.  All of the online gender quizzes and calendars say that I will be having another boy, but we shall see.

I am getting towards the end of my pregnancy and I have really enjoyed being pregnant.  It did help that this pregnancy was easier for me than my last one.  I had morning sickness, but not that bad.  I really think that starting off 20 lbs lighter helped a lot by just being in much better physical shape.  It wasn’t until about 30 weeks that I started to get some pelvic pain, which appears to be SPD.  I have really been trying to remember and enjoy every part of this pregnancy.  This baby is quite the mover and I have tried to take little video snippets of my belly moving to capture what the pregnancy was like from my point of view.  The one part that saddens me a little is that this pregnancy is flying by so much faster than my first.  I think that once you have a child time goes by so quickly and that made this pregnancy fly by.  I can’t believe that I am close to D-Day because it feels like it was just a little bit ago that I saw those two pink lines!

Leave a Reply

